Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

wpid-wp-1408668260148.png

Genre: Young Adult, Scifi, Dystopian

Pages: 382

Point of View: First

Source: NetGalley

Released: July 28th 2014

Predictability: 1 out of 5 (Where 1 is George RR Martin (If the characters make a plan or think about the future I know it isn’t going to go that way.) And 5 is Cinder (where I guessed what was going to happen long before it did, but it was still a great book.)

My Rating: 7/10 Stars

Warnings: Parts of this book are brutal and violent. If you’re someone who’s bothered by these things, don’t read this book!

My Description: [This is a hard book to describe without giving anything away. This is only the setup for the beginning.]

In Red Rising society is divided by colors. The golds sit on top ruling over the rest, where pinks are for pleasure, greens are technicians and at the very bottom are the reds.

Darrow is a red who works in the mines of mars obtaining energy to terraform the planet for the settlers to come. His life is hard, but meaningful. Then he learns that Mars is already terraformed and he’s little more than a glorified slave. With the help of other LowColors he plans to change the way things are. The resistance will change Darrow from a Red into a Gold and attempt to get him into the Institute which chooses the leaders of worlds.

My Review:

At the start of the book the world stinks. It does in most dystopians, but Red Rising brings it to a whole new level. Usually I don’t like where the book starts and then the timeline rewinds, but it worked here, because things were so bad I needed the hint that they’ll improve.

I loved the beginning of Red Rising! It started out so strong. I liked the latter half of the book too, but not nearly as much as that first quarter. It just wasn’t as unique and interesting, plus it was more brutal and violent, which I understand why, but I didn’t like it.

[Warning: Mild Spoilers in the next paragraph, which I wish I knew before reading this.]

This book was really like two books. The first quarter felt like a dystopian set in space and then the institute which we are expecting to be a school is actually a giant war game. I think the reason for mixed reviews is because the beginning of the book is so good and we think we know what we’re in for and them BAM something else happens for the rest of the book.

The Good

The beginning of this book is amazing! So much potential for this series!

The world building and the culture created in Red Rising is fantastic! I can’t wait to learn more about it in the rest of the trilogy. The technology that we’re shown is also cool and I liked how the history was told, so we know how the world wound up this way. Sometimes with such fantastic worlds it seems unreal, but even being set so far in the future I can see the world becoming like this.

The romance. Yes, there’s romance in this book, and it feels real and is well done.

This is a fast paced book full of action and twists and turns. (There are so many that saying this spoils nothing.) I was never bored.

We got to know the minor characters well and they had good personalities, Sevro is my favorite. (The tricky little runt)

The Bad

The main character is a know it all, which considering he’s a teenage boy makes sense, but as the story goes Darrow becomes harder to like. That’s my main problem with this book, Darrow. He’s a nice enough guy, but sometimes he’s just hard to like. I understand why he’s angry, but his rage and arrogance make him unlikeable.

The author’s intention might not have been for him to come off arrogant, but because this novel takes place over the course of two years much of this story is told (Some things that really should’ve been shown.) and Darrow is telling us how great he is instead of us seeing him be amazing, so he comes off arrogant.

The slang! I know it’s part of the world building, but it can be annoying when I don’t understand half of what’s said.

Would I recommend this book? Yes, but only to some people. Will I read the Sequel? Yes, I have to know what happens next!

Sorry this review was so long in coming. My life has been terribly nuts. I want summer back! What about you? Are you a summer person like me or do you prefer the winter? (Yuck!)

