Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This post is in three parts, the first is my review of the Percy Jackson & the Heroes of Olympus series’, (In an attempt to convert those who haven’t read it.) the second is a mini recap of House of Hades, (For those with as bad a memory as me) And last but not least my Blood of Olympus review! After trying for an hour to figure out the spoiler boxes, (again) I gave up. So, please stop reading when you see the spoiler warnings!

Percy Jackson

PERCY JACKSON By Rick Riordan

Genre: Middle Grade, Fantasy, Mythology

Pages: 377

Point of View: First (Percy)

Released: January 1, 2005

Predictability: 3 out of 5 (Where 1 is George RR Martin (If the characters make a plan or think about the future I know it isn’t going to go that way.) And 5 is Cinder (where I guessed what was going to happen long before it did, but it was still a great book.)

Source: Owned!

My Rating: 10/10 Stars

Prophecy: 

A half-blood of the eldest gods

Shall reach sixteen against all odds

And see the world in endless sleep

The hero’s soul, cursed blade shall reap

A single choice shall end his days

Olympus to preserve or raze

Bad Guys: Kronos (Zeus’ titan father), various monsters and other demigods

My Review:

After being attacked by his algebra teacher and then the Minotaur, Percy finds himself at Camp Half-Blood and learns his father is a god.

The Percy Jackson books are one of my favorites. I didn’t read them for years because I used to be really into Greek mythology and I was afraid they’d just annoy me, but the mythology is well done with enough new elements to create a unique world. The characters are great, some people complain Percy is too perfect, but he messes up all of the time and I like him.

The humor of these books is very well done, and Riordan is master of the bad pun.

The first book is crowded with adventures, I think Riordan had too many ideas, but the rest of the series is better paced.


 

Heroes of Olympus

HEROES OF OLYMPUS (Percy Jackson 2) By Rick Riordan

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Mythology

Pages: 576

Point of View: Third (Various)

Released: January 1, 2010

Predictability: 3 out of 5 (Where 1 is George RR Martin (If the characters make a plan or think about the future I know it isn’t going to go that way.) And 5 is Cinder (where I guessed what was going to happen long before it did, but it was still a great book.)

Source: Owned!

My Rating: 10/10 Stars

Prophecy: 

“Seven half-bloods shall answer the call,

To storm or fire, the world must fall.

An oath to keep with a final breath,

And foes bear arms to the Doors of Death!”

Bad Guys: Gaia (Mother Earth), the giants, various monsters, Octavian (Okay, so being a jerk probably doesn’t make him a ‘villain’, but I don’t care, I can’t stand the guy.)

My Review:

This sequel is just as good as the original and in some ways even better!

Unlike the first series in which each book is a different year, these books take place over a few months. Everything I liked about Percy Jackson is back along with more romance.

In the first book, the Last Hero I found myself looking for Percy. He’s supposed to be in this new series right? Stop looking, he isn’t in this book. The main characters are Jason, Piper and Leo each with their own perspective. (The perspectives are a little awkward in this book, but by the next one Riordan has smoothed it out.) I liked each of the new characters, especially Leo. (And their gym teacher coach Hedge.)

In the second book, The Son of Neptune Percy is back, but he’s lost his memory, all he remembers is a girl named Annabeth. (Awe!) He finds himself at Camp Jupiter a camp for Roman demigods. He makes friends with Frank, and Hazel the daughter of Pluto. I liked them both, especially Hazel. Also, Nico is back!

Mark of Athena. Finally Annabeth gets a point of view! The other POVs are Percy, Piper and Leo. Leo’s built a flying ship called the Argo II and the demigods fly to camp Jupiter. Annabeth and Percy are reunited, (one of the best scenes in the book!) It takes some getting used to, having all of the seven together, but relationships form and overall this is my favorite book of the Heroes of Olympus.

Gaia, Mother Earth is waking up and she plans to destroy the gods and the world as we know it. She’s imprisoned death, and opened the doors of death, so no monster can be vanquished. The Heroes head to Rome and the House of Hades to stop her. Percy dreams that Nico is in trouble, but Annabeth’s mother has given her an impossible task, so he insists on going with her while Leo, Hazel and Frank go to save Nico. (Jason and Piper stay on the Argo II with coach Hedge) Warning: Cliffhanger!

House of Hades. Points of View: Everyone! (Percy, Annabeth, Leo, Hazel, Jason, Frank, & Piper.) The demigods must close the doors of death to prevent monsters from escaping from Tartarus.

Have you read Percy Jackson or Heroes of Olympus? (Did I make you want to?)


HOUSE OF HADES RECAP (for those of us with a bad memory) SPOILERS below!

Annabeth and Percy have just survived Tartarus and closed the doors of death.

When the Romans went to Camp Half Blood to fight the Greeks they caused the god’s personalities to fight with one another, making them all basically nuts and useless. And only a demigod and a god fighting together and kill a giant.

Hazel has a new magic, Hecate helped her learn how to control the mist to create illusions.

They found a zombie stick (Scepter of Diocletian) which summons an army of ghostly soldiers. Nico took it with him.

Frank became a proctor of the Roman legion. Jason stepped down because the Roman ghosts didn’t recognize him as a proctor due to his confliction wanting to be one of the Greeks.

While in Tartarus, Annabeth sent a message to Rachel to give to Reyna. If a Roman demigod returns the Athena Parthenon (the statue of Athena that Annabeth recovered in Mark of Athena) to Camp Half Blood it will heal the rift and thus prevent the war. Reyna flew to the Argo II, but her Pegasus Scipio died in the flight. She left with Nico and Coach Hedge to return the statue.

Reyna left Octavian *cough* jerk *couch* in charge of the Romans and of course he’s still preparing for a fight.

(And of course I totally forgot which giant is which, but it didn’t really matter.) Damasen is the one created to fight Ares, he’s considered a traitor by the giants, but Annabeth and Percy met him in Tartarus and he’s not a bad guy.


Review of BLOOD OF OLYMPUS with MINOR SPOILERS (Those given away in any review.) There will be another warning before the MAJOR SPOILERS! (The stuff I just had to squeal about!)


BLOOD OF OLYMPUS (Heroes of Olympus 5) By Rick Riordan

the-blood-of-olympus-cover

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Mythology

Pages: 502

Point of View: Third, (Jason, Piper, Leo, Nico, and Reyna)

Released: October 7, 2014

Predictability: 4 out of 5 (Where 1 is George RR Martin (If the characters make a plan or think about the future I know it isn’t going to go that way.) And 5 is Cinder (where I guessed what was going to happen long before it did, but it was still a great book.)

Source: Owned!

My Rating: 10/10 Stars!

Who Dies? (For people like me who want to know so I don’t have to worry the whole book and can just read it and enjoy) I have to know!

My Summary:

The demigods have twelve days left to stop the goddess Gaia from awakening. Hera / Juno informs them that they must stop the goddess Nemesis if they want to prevent the fight between the Romans and the Greeks. In her insanity, Nemesis mentions a ‘physician’s cure’, a potion that can save someone from death. The demigods travel to collect the ingredients for this cure in the hopes that it could save one of them. Gaia’s forces know they’re coming and are doing everything they can to prevent the Argo II from reaching Athens.

Meanwhile Nico, Reyna, and Coach Hedge are trying to get the Athenian Parthenon to Camp Half Blood, but Gaia’s sent her Hunter after them. To make matters worse, with each shadow travel Nico’s getting weaker.

My Review:

I shall try to type in complete sentences. This book is just as good as the rest in the series. I still LOVE all of the characters and even the new ones. The right amount of humor was sprinkled throughout the book to keep the mood from going too dark. The pacing was quick, and it felt like time was really running out.

I liked Reyna’s point of view, before I didn’t really care about her, but after hearing her voice I really cared about her and worried for her. Jason and Piper were Jason and Piper, I appreciated Piper’s growth. Yeah that’s all I’ve got. They’re just not squeal worthy. I liked seeing Frank step up to lead the legion and Hazel’s improving magic. Poor Percy and Annabeth, I think they were traumatized from Tartarus still. They really didn’t play a major role in the book. I loved getting to hear Nico’s voice! I also enjoyed his growing relationship with Reyna, a kind of sisterly friendship.

My Only Complaint: is the limited points of view. No Percy Jackson! He’s my favorite character! (And usually my favorite isn’t the main character) But he’s so funny! I wanted MORE Percy! (And Annabeth) This is the FINAL Percy Jackson book after all. (Okay I know it’s technically Heroes of Olympus, but it’s really Percy Jackson 2)

Overall: I’m still sad that it’s over, but it was a good last book and I’m satisfied.


If you haven’t read Blood of Olympus STOP NOW! Below there are MAJOR SPOILERS!!


 

 

NICO!!! I’m so glad the little guy finally got over Percy Jackson. And that confession?!! PERFECT! I wish I could hear what Percy thought of it! I’m also glad that he made a friend / potential new crush. He’s not alone anymore! I was so proud of him!!

LEO!! OMG I was so scared for him! He kept hinting at this whole sacrificing himself to save everyone thing. (Which was annoying, because like I didn’t have it all figured out.) I didn’t see Festas coming though, I was so happy to see that dragon ‘alive’ again! That ending was PERFECT! I’m so happy he got his happily ever after with Calypso! They’re re-meeting was so cute! I love their relationship! (So much better than that sappy stuff she had going with Percy)

Best Quote: “Hey, you want to meet Chuck? This is my boy Chuck!” Coach Hedge. (And that was great that Clarisse felt protective over the little guy!)

Best Scene: (Okay, one of them) The demigods fighting with their godly parents was so cool! That fight against the giants! Just wow!

Best Page:

blood of olympus quote

Anyone else read Blood of Olympus? What did you think!? Did everything happen that you wanted to happen?

