Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

image

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Pages: 368

Point of View: First present (Elizabeth)

Released: June 2nd 2015

Series: The Witch Hunter 1

Predictability: 4 out of 5 (Where 1 is totally unpredictable and 5 is I knew what was going to happen way ahead of time.)

Source: Netgalley

My Rating: 7/10 Stars

Warnings: Rape. (Only mentioned, and took place before the start of the story.)

My Summary:

After a magical plagued whipped out much of the kingdom, including the king and queen, all witchcraft was made illegal. The punishment, death at the stake.

Elizabeth is one of the elite Witch Hunters, tracking down and capturing dangerous witches and Wizards. After she’s accused of witch craft and sentenced to die, she’s saved by the most infamous wizard in the country, Nicolas, the leader of the reformists.

A seer saw that Elizabeth was the one to help the reformists, but they don’t realize she’s a witch hunter. She knows it they do, they’ll kill her.

My Review:

Most of the reviews I’ve read people either love this book or hate it. I’m somewhere in the middle. (Leave it to me to be the oddball) There wasn’t anything I thought was bad, but I there wasn’t anything great either.

The Fine:

Witch Hunter starts out pretty much a downer and nothing really grabbed me at first. But it was fast paced so I wasn’t bored. Elizabeth is a fine main character. She’s stubborn and strong, but she’s obviously been brainwashed by the inquisitor, Blackwell.

Things picked up once we met the wizards and witches. They were funny and had great potential. From a pirate to a court jester, they were certainly colorful. Normally I love the whole secret identity thing, but not enough was really done with it.

I was afraid of a love triangle, but there wasn’t one! The romance wasn’t too fast and the guy was sweet, but there wasn’t any swooning or giggles on my part. (And you know how much I like forbidden romance!)

Everything was described in detail in this middle ages like world. I wanted to know more about the magical creatures though. Along with ghosts, and ghouls there’s something called a revenant and they can read your mind after they’ve touched you. The magic had a couple of interesting aspects too, like storing magic in knots.

The story wrapped up, but it’s obviously a series. There’s plenty of fighting left for next time.

This was a hard review to write! I don’t know why I didn’t like this book more. It had all of the things I usually love. (Even a cool prophecy riddle!)

Has that ever happened to you? Although a book had all things you love it was just okay?

