Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

image

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Pages: 287

Point of View: First Present (Astarti, Logan)

Released: April 28th 2015

SeriesGriever’s Mark 2

Predictability: 3 out of 5 (Where 1 is totally unpredictable and 5 is I knew what was going to happen way ahead of time.)

Source: Author Request

My Rating: 7/10 Stars

My Summary:

For as long as Logan can remember it has been whispered that his father wasn’t the Arcon. He never wanted to know the truth, but after discovering he can do things no pure Earthmaker could do, he decides he needs to know.

Logan and Astarti race to discover the truth, while running from the evil Belos.

My Review:

This is a sequel, but any spoilers for the first book are clearly marked. See my review of Griever’s Mark.

Note: the characters never dress like they do on the cover. It’s not that kind of book honest.

It took me a moment to remember the events of the past book, but it came back. (Definitely not a stand alone sequel.) Astarti annoyed me at first. I understand she’s angry, but she’s so bitter and mean! Either she improved or I got used to her though, because she only bothered me at the beginning.

In many ways this felt like a second book. It was necessary and things happen, but it felt like all the good stuff was being saved for the ending. (Know what I mean?)

The mystery of Logan’s origins was well done and I never would’ve guessed it. I enjoyed how it was woven into the world.

The world building was one of the many things I loved about the first book. It continued to be well done and oh so cool! (Whispers “mermaid”) Some things which weren’t explained now make perfect sense! I love the intricacy of the world!

I didn’t like Logan’s POV in this one. (Spoilers this paragraph!) He’s been captured and tortured, though we only witness the psychological not the physical torture, it’s still pretty bad. Then he understandably has PTSD, which is handled well, (which is rare, and I appreciate) but I just don’t like PTSD in books.

We do meet a couple of good new characters. Mostly Horik, the king’s champion. He’s big and tough and such a sweetie!

There’s still a little romance, but it isn’t nearly as fun as book one. (I keep saying that, don’t I?) It was dark and serious instead of fun and teasing. There are a couple lighter moments, but then they’re sucked back down.

That was my main problem with Chains of Water and Stone, it was so dark! But, I’m still glad I read it and I plan to read the finale! Where is it?! (Looks around)

How is your summer going?

I’ve been working hard and binge reading silly super hero books. I finally broke down and tried out Kindle Unlimited. (So far I’m up to $14 of read free books!)

