Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

generationvGenre: Adult, Urban Fantasy, Vampires, shape shifters, fairies

Pages: 312

Point of View: First (Fortitude)

Released: May 7, 2013

Predictability: 4 out of 5 (Where 1 is George RR Martin (If the characters make a plan or think about the future I know it isn’t going to go that way.) And 5 is Cinder (where I guessed what was going to happen long before it did, but it was still a great book.)

Source: I got this book for Christmas yay!

Warning: Violence and gore (mentions child rape)

My Rating: 8/10 Stars

My Summary:
Fortitude Scott works at a coffee joint, due to his useless degree in film theory. His roommate owes him months of rent and his girlfriend is cheating on him. He’s also a vampire, or he will be after he transitions. Something he dreads and is doing everything he can to postpone.

When a girl is killed and two others are kidnapped and Fort knows a vampire is responsible he can’t just do nothing.

My Review:

By now you all probably know how much I love a funny and sarcastic protagonist, but Fort upped the ante by being a nerd too! I loved all the geeky references!

These are some of the most unique vampires I’ve read about. (And I have a bit of a vampire addiction as long as it isn’t a romance book) Also there’s the Kitsune, (fox shape shifters with illusion magic) which are a favorite of mine from Japanese mythology and they were also really well done.

Fort’s full name is Fortitude and his siblings are Prudence and Chivalry. His family are vampires, so they have questionable morals, but despite not being exactly good people they were interesting and I liked them. Fort and Suzume the fox were my favorites though.

A few reviewers complained because Fort is very much a doormat and a wimp, but I could relate to him and I figured that way he has room to grow into being a hero. (It’s only when a previously strong character gets weak that annoys me)

This book was quick and enjoyable. Feels like more. 🙂


SPOILER FREE SEQUEL REVIEWS


 

ironnightIRON NIGHT

Pages: 305

Released: January 7, 2014

Warning: Violence and gore (mentions torture)

My Rating: 9/10 Stars

My Summary:

Fortitude has a new job and a new roommate, both improvements from last year. Iron Night takes place four months after the end of Generation V and Fort’s been working out with his older brother Chivalry. He’s also gotten to be good friends with the Kitsune Suzume, which comes with its own problems. When someone is murdered and dumped in Fort’s apartment, his family dismisses it as a human matter, but Fort can’t let it go.

My Review: 

I liked this book as much as the first and the mystery and plot were even better! The growing friendship between Suzume and Fort was great! I was afraid because Suze is a tough character to pull off because she’s so complicated and unpredictable, but she was even more fun in this book!

Chivalry isn’t in the book much, because he’s spending more time with his dying wife, but we got more Prudence instead. She’s a scary character, a true vampire at heart. I enjoyed watching her relationship with Fort. (Is it wrong to like a Sociopath?)

I liked the new characters that were added as well, mostly the potential love interest. She was cute and sweet and perfect for Fort. Even though I liked her I still want Fort and Suzume to get together because I love them both, but oh boy would that be a whirlwind of a romance.


 

taintedbloodTAINTED BLOOD

Pages: 306

Released: November 4, 2014

Warning: Violence and gore

My Rating: 8/10 Stars

My Summary:

While Chivalry is spending time with his dying wife, Fortitude’s been put in charge of the family business. Along with his new partner the Kitsune Suzume. It’s been mostly quiet for the first month he’s been in charge, but now the head werebear (don’t call them that) has been murdered and it’s up to Fort to investigate.

My Review:

I enjoyed the growing relationship between Fort and Suzume. They trust each other more now and confide in one another. And joke of course. (I want a friend like Suzume!)

I like how in each book we learn more about this world. Here we not only learned about the werebears, but also a little bit about the ghouls who run funereal homes and do autopsy’s.

There was of course still plenty of family drama. I didn’t like Chivalry as much, but I feel like I understand Prudence better. (Yep she’s psycho)

It was strange that Fort had the family behind him for once and all of their resources. (Which surprisingly didn’t help much) I didn’t think this mystery was as well done as the previous ones, but that could be because I figured it out right away. The ride to get there was still really fun. I just love these books!

The fourth book, Dark Ascension will be published on August 4th 2015. I can’t wait!

If you like Generation V, I recommend Hold my Closer Necromancer by Lish McBride. (Or if you like Necromancer, Generation V) They’re quite different, but the tone is the same.

Do you ever do that, find a book you love and go looking for another just like it? 

Oddly enough I searched for another like Generation V, but couldn’t find one. A week later I started Necromancer and was pleasantly surprised.

If anyone knows of another book like Generation V, please let me know! 🙂