Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

sineatersdaughterGenre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Pages: 336

Point of View: First (Twylla)

Released: February 5th, 2015

Series: The Sin Eater’s Daughter 1

Predictability: 3 out of 5 (Where 1 is totally unpredictable and 5 is I knew what was going to happen way ahead of time.)

Source: Edelweiss

My Rating: 7/10 Stars

My Summary: 

Twylla was the Sin Eater’s Daughter. When someone dies the Sin Eater eats food off their coffin, each item representing a different sin they committed while alive. After seeing Twylla and her red hair and talent for singing at the king’s funeral the queen herself visits Twylla’s small cottage. The queen tells Twylla she’s the Daunen embodied, the daughter of the gods meant to bring hope to Lormere.

Now Twylla lives in the palace, is engaged to the prince, and lives a rich life, but she isn’t free. As the Daunen Embodied, every month Twylla drinks a poison, which makes her skin poisonous and her touch deadly. Her job is to execute traitors to the crown.

Because of this she has no friends for everyone in the castle fears her. She’s not surprised when yet another of her guards quits, but her new guard isn’t from Lormere, and he doesn’t seem to fear her. He asks her questions and actually talks with her.

My Review: 

I feel I should apologize before this review. It’s such a mess. I’m not sure how I feel about this book. I wanted to love it. I mean look at that cover! And that blurb! It sounds so awesome! But the book I got wasn’t the book I expected. It’s good, don’t get me wrong, but it wasn’t as epically amazing as I wanted it to be.

The Sin Eater’s Daughter was more of a romance set in a made up medieval kingdom than a fantasy.

The Good: 

The religion building. I would say world, but though we know about Lormere and it’s two closest neighbors and their recent history, it is really the religion and the customs behind their beliefs which are the most built upon.

Though the pacing was slow I wasn’t bored and there were enough dangling questions to keep me reading. I couldn’t put it down because I had to know what happened next. (Is it wrong that I’d rather all of my wild theories to have happened than what did?) In the end it was a good mystery though.

This book felt very dystopian to me. The seemingly nice little kingdom where things aren’t really so great. The heroine finds out the truth and the plan to set things right. Though Twylla did make some revelations in figuring out the evil plot, she had little to do with saving the day.

The supporting characters were good. The queen was appropriately evil and both of the men in Twylla’s life were interesting enough. (Yes there are two love interests)

Romance The Good and The Bad:

She was betrothed to one man, but she didn’t really care for him even though he cared for her. (I liked him the best out of the two. He wasn’t great, but the potential was there.) The one she did like… I can see where many people will enjoy this romance because it is slow and they become friends first and I liked when she realized she cared about him more than a friend.

But I would’ve rather they stayed as friends. I was starting to feel the friendship and then it turned into a romance, but I didn’t feel it. (As much as I like the friends first thing.) He was just okay for me, a bit too perfect and I didn’t like how he was always judging her and seemed to look down on her instead of trying to understand her. (Can you tell I didn’t like him?) I’m not saying she should’ve picked the other guy. I think she needs to become her own person before she worries about love.

Twylla The Good and the Bad:

I went back and forth with Twylla. She’s relatable and flawed. She’s survived a hard life and still managed to be a good person. She was a little boring though. She had a talent for singing, but I wish she had something else she cared about other than her gods. It’s mentioned that she wishes she could read, but it wasn’t explained why she never learned. I appreciated her character growth, she started to come into her own towards the end, but I wish that she had grown more and faster.

I wanted her take charge of her own story! My main problem is she never did anything for herself; made her own choices, decided her own destiny, come up with her own plans. I felt like she moped and waited for someone to save her. I had trouble feeling bad for her after she was so stupid! (I know that sounds awful.) She believes everything people tell her. After living in the castle for four years I’d have expected her to learn not to trust some of these people. By the end she does finally start to wise up, so there’s hope for the sequel. (Though I did think she’d learned her lesson once and then she proved me wrong.)

Verdict:

I hope this doesn’t sound like I didn’t like this book, because I did! There are many good things about this story. And just because I didn’t like the romance or Twylla (some of time) doesn’t mean you’ll feel the same way. I read it in two sittings, so that says something and I didn’t see the mystery coming, even though there were hints. (So Twylla turned out to be smarter than me.)

I like my fantasys with take charge heroines, magic and battles and political plots, but for a fantasy romance this was good. (and there was plenty of conniving by bad guys.) So all in all, a good book, but not a great one.