Tags

, , ,

toptentuesday

(3 in a row, I’m on a roll now!)

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. They come up with top ten lists that people can blog about every week. 

This is supposed to be a winter to read list, but that would be too hard. And I really want to read 100 books in one year! I’m up to 90 so far, so this list will complete my year!

Skulduggery91. The Dying of the Light (Skulduggery Pleasant #9) by Derek Landy

Pages: 605

This came out a couple of months ago and I have to find out how it all ends. (The cover scares me!) Things were very exciting at the end of eight and totally left up in the air. (Somewhat literally since the bad guy can fly)

I can’t really write a summary without spoiling the other books, so I’ll just say it’s supposed to be the final battle against the biggest bad Skulduggery has ever faced.

5thwave2. The 5th Wave (The Fifth Wave #1) by Rick Yancey

Pages: 480

I bought it and was all excited, but I heard it’s a bit of a downer, so now I don’t know.

Aliens who look human are attacking the Earth. After four waves of attacks not many humans are left. Cassie meets a boy named Evan who says he’ll help her rescue her brother, but can she trust him?

twinmaker3. Twinmaker (Twinmaker #1) by Sean Williams

Pages: 496

I got a random book from a publisher! I’ve never had a REAL arc before and to just get a random book in the mail made my day. It was actually Crashland the sequel to this, but I bought Twinmaker on Thrift Books so I could read it first.

Sounds a bit like Uglies. A dystopian with a high tech world where teleportion on d-mats and virtual communication is commonplace. Clair’s friend Libby gets a note that she can improve herself. Of course things to wrong and Libby gets into trouble and Clair has to save her. The blurb promises action, conspiracies and a mysterious character named Q.Magicians

4. The Magicians (The Magicians #1) by Lev Grossman

Pages: 402

It’s been on my list for a while, but I’m afraid because most people didn’t like book one as much.

Quentin finds out magic is real when he’s accepted to a college of magic in upstate New York.

generationv5. Generation V (Generation V #1) by M.L. Brennan

Pages: 312

Thanks to Bibiosanctum I now own book 3. 🙂 In case you didn’t know I have a weakness for vampires. (The evil kind not the romantic kind) and I’m a sucker for anti heroes!

The main character is a vampire, but he lives in the human world. Until young girls start showing up dead in his family’s territory. He’s determined to investigate, even if his family thinks he’s crazy for doing so. He’s aided by a shapeshifter.

WarriorHeir6. The Warrior Heir (The Heir Chronicles #1) by Cinda Williams Chima

Pages: 426

I’ve heard good things about these books and it’s another boy finds out he has magic story.

Jack has to take medicine, but one day he skips it and he’s stronger. He learns he’s a Weirlind, a race of magical people. They are ruled by houses whose power is controlled by a game, a magical tournament to the death. Jack discovers he’s also a rare warrior, who has to compete in these games.

ExquisiteCaptive7. Exquisite Captive (Dark Caravan Cycle #1) By Heather Demetrios

Pages: 480

It stars a Genie how cool is that? The premise sounds good, but I’ve read some not so good reviews, so even though I own it now I don’t know!

After a war Nalia, a Jinn is made a slave in a bottle. Her master is cruel and she wants to return home to free her brother. When a man comes who says she can help she’s not sure she can trust him, but he’s her only hope.

angelfall8. Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1) by Susan Ee

Pages: 283

I normally don’t like angel things, but here angels are the bad guys. Plus there’s the whole he’s supposed to be a bad guy, but he’s going to help the human girl thing. (And probably fall for her)

Angels attack and the apocalypse starts. Warrior angels kidnap a little girl and her sister, Penryn vows to get her back. Penryn finds a wingless broken angel and after aiding him, he helps her to rescue her sister.

WhiteCat9. White Cat (Curse Workers #1) by Holly Black

Pages: 310

A family of magical con artists, enough said. I really liked The Iron Trial (And Holly Black retweeted me!) so now I really want to read one of her other books. (I read Spiderwick Chronicles years ago)

Cassel killed his best friend Lila years ago. Now he’s having dreams about a white cat and people are losing their memories. He begins to wonder what really happened to Lila.

anomaly10. Anomaly (Schrodinger’s Consortium, #1) by Tonya Kuper

Pages: 301

I own it, it looks good, and it’s about super powers.

Josie discovers she can make things appear just by thinking about them. (There’s also supposed to be numerous nerd references.)


List subject to change. I am notorious for making reading plans and then not sticking to them, I’m easily distracted what can I say.

And after making this I realized I should’ve picked shorter books.

Also if I get something really good for Christmas, I’ll probably read that.

Do you stick to your to read list or read randomly like me? How many books have you read so far this year? Anyone know of any good shorter books?