Tags

, , , , , ,

toptentuesday

(It was way too hard to pick my top ten books of the year, so I’m only doing 2014 releases.)

I read 23 books published this year! Since my previous record was like 3-4 I’m pretty impressed!


It was hard to find good quotes without spoilers, but I did it! (Some I had to remove names, but I made it work)

Sequels

cress1. Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3) by Marissa Meyer

Cinder and Captain Thorne (a criminal with a spaceship who helped Cinder escape from prison) contact Cress on her satellite. (Told from Cress’ point of view.)

He leaned forward to inspect her closer. “Is that all hair?”

With a squeak, she ducked out of view of the camera and scrambled beneath the desk. 

“Wha—where’d she go?” Thorne’s voice came to her through the screen.

“Honestly, Thorne.” A girl. Linh Cinder? “Do you ever think before you speak?”

“What? What did I say?”

” ‘Is that all hair?’ “

“Did you see it? It was like a cross between a magpie nest and ball of yarn after it’s been mauled by a cheetah.”

This might not be the best written book on the list, but thinking back it was the most fun. Lots of people like Scarlet best, but I couldn’t really connect with her. Cress might be a bit odd, but so am I, and I related to her the most and I really like Thorne. (Such a lovable scoundrel) Also the plot deepened, and there were good moments with all the past characters too!

2. Dreams of Gods & Monsters(Daughter of Smoke & Bone, dreamsofgodsandmonsters#3) by Laini Taylor

“Finding his door still closed, she gave a chuff of derision and didn’t knock but only crashed it open and glared at the sight that greeted her.

“Well,” She said, “At least you still have your clothes on.” 

I loved the fist book, struggled with the second and loved the third. (the second was too dark and Karou got wimpy) but the third is back in the swing of things. There was a new character who I didn’t see the point of and I didn’t like her parts at the time, but after it all comes together that was one of my favorite parts. (I know I’m fickle) It was left open for a sequel and I for one NEED MORE!

the-blood-of-olympus-cover3. The Blood of Olympus (The Heroes of Olympus, #5) by Rick Riordan

“Legion, cuneum formate!’ Reyna yelled. ‘Advance!’ Another cheer on Jason’s right as Percy and Annabeth reunited with the forces of Camp Half-Blood.

‘Greeks!’ Percy yelled. ‘Let’s, um, fight stuff!’ They yelled like banshees and charged.

Jason grinned. He loved the Greeks. They had no organization whatsoever, but they made up for it with enthusiasm.”

Percy Jackson was my favorite book of the year, but thinking back I just didn’t enjoy Blood of Olympus as much as Cress or Dreams of Gods and Monsters. (I blame the lack of Percy-ness)

cityofheavenlyfire24. City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments, #6) by Cassandra Clare

“We shouldn’t,” protested Isabelle. “The Clave has a plan.”

“The Clave has the collective intelligence of a pineapple,” said Jace.

Alec blinked up at them. “Jace is right.”

Isabelle turned on her brother. “What do you know? You weren’t even paying attention.”

“I was,” Alec said, injured. “I said Jace was right.”

“Yeah, but there’s like a 90% chance of me being right most of the time, so that’s not proof you were listening,” said Jace. “That’s just a good guess.”

Again, not the best book in the series, but still really good. I didn’t think it felt long at all and I enjoyed it even if I didn’t get the Jem time I wanted.


New Series

The-Iron-Trial5. The Iron Trial (Magisterium, #1) by Holly Black & Cassandra Clare

“They all yelled in excitement. Tamara yelled because she was happy. Aaron yelled because he liked it when other people were happy, and Call yelled because he was sure they were going to die.”

I liked this book, but by the end I LOVED it. If you try this and you get bored in the middle, keep going I promise it’s worth it.

6. The Young Elites (The Young Elites, #1) by Marie Luyoungelites

“Be true to yourself. But that’s something everyone says and no one means. No one wants you to be yourself. They want you to be the version of yourself that they like.”

I had mixed feelings about this book, because it was so weird and dark. The main character felt like a bad guy and I wasn’t really feeling the romance, but it was such a cool concept and world. I NEED the sequel NOW, even though I haven’t a clue what the book is going to be like.

LastChangeling27. The Last Changeling (Faerie Revolutions, #1) by Chelsea Pitcher

“You have to make sacrifices for the things you believe in. If you don’t, what’s the point in believing in anything?”

Most of you might not like this one, because it has instant annoying love, but I like it when the main character is the mystical thing, the monster, the cyborg, or in this case the Fairy. It was just a fun book and I also want the sequel of this, because things were left rather dramatically. (not to be continued though)


Debut Authors

8. Red Rising (Red Rising Trilogy, #1) by Pierce Brown

wpid-wp-1408668260148.png

“I stand over them and cock my head. ‘Is this the first time you’ve lost at something?’ No answer. I frown. ‘Well, that must be embarrassing.’ ”

The beginning of the book book was excellent! The middle was a bit repetitive and violent for me, but I enjoyed the ride. My main problem was I didn’t really like the main character, Darrow. I think he matured over the course of the book though. This is a book where I NEEDED the sequel simple because of its potential. (Thanks to Netgalley I’m reading it right now!)

Storm-Siren9. Storm Siren (Storm Siren, #1) by Mary Weber

“I think some have to fight harder to choose good over evil because the evil’s got it out for them. And maybe it’s because those’re the ones evil knows will become the strongest warriors, recognizing true wickedness when it rears its head.”

The magic, the political intrigue, this was a good book. Then the author went all Goosebump ending on me! (Anyone who’s read those children’s books will understand, lets just say it was unexpectedly horrible.) Even though it was a good book, (if a bit dark) I’m not sure if I want to read the sequel.

10. Between by Megan Whitmerbetween

“It’s fine.” I feel my blood pressure rise as heat branches out from my chest throughout my body. Oh no. I’m about to start saying stupid things. “I don’t know why I keep getting so flustered around you. And I get that it’s weird for you or something.” The words come faster and faster. Oh my God, Charlie, shut up. “It’s just sometimes it seems like you want me close and sometimes you don’t.” Stop talking. Just. Stop. Talking. “But I get it. You’re not interested.”

I liked the world building with lots of magical species, but that’s pretty much all I remember about this book. I know I liked it, but it didn’t stick with me.


Next week I will be on vacation! I’ve never gone away for Christmas, but this year we needed something different, so my mom and I are flying to South Carolina to visit my sister! I’ll actually have a warm Christmas for once! (I hope, with my luck it will snow.)

I have no clue how many comments I will get a chance to respond to or how many of your fabulous blogs I’ll have time to read. They all get sent to my email though so they’ll be waiting for me when I get back. I’m planning on writing posts ahead of time. (Shockingly I already have the book review written, so there will still be postage.)

puppyWhat are you doing for the holidays? 

I will be eating good food, because not only is Charleston a foodie town, but my sister is a fabulous cook and she spoils me.

I will also get to enjoy (be tortured by) sappy Christmas movies.

And my sister is getting a Schnauzer puppy 3 days before we get there, so I’ll get to play with him!

When you think back on the books you read do you change your mind about them too?

Like for me I remember enjoying Young Elites more as time passes and others like Blood of Olympus which I loved at the time I remember less fondly (and some books I can’t even remember what they were about.)