Tags

, , , , , , , ,

originalidea

One of the biggest problems nowadays is having an original plot. I wonder if the ancient Greeks thought that all the stories had been told. People often say that today, though I don’t believe it is true. There may be fewer ideas left out there, but they can’t ever be all used up.

I used to think I could only write a story if it was completely original. This became a problem. I’d get a good idea, but then I’d read or watch something and find them too similar, so I’d scrap my story. I realized that if I continued to do this I would never write anything. As much as I want to write a totally original story I had to understand that no matter how original I think my story is, there is going to be something out there that is somewhat similar.

Everyone is influenced by what they have seen and what they have read. No two stories can be the same, being told by two different individuals.

