Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

ElemeentalRancorGenre: Adult, Fantasy, Magic, High, Epic Fantasy

Pages: 417

Point of View: Third Distant (Major: Sarnen, Lorgen, Grenot, Disa, Magmanoid, Lanon, Timorn, Yonele. Minor: Sheila, Marasina, Jorsana, Sukaro, Byron, Kerome.)

Released: April 18, 2014

Predictability: 2 out of 5 (Where 1 is George RR Martin (If the characters make a plan or think about the future I know it isn’t going to go that way.) And 5 is Cinder (where I guessed what was going to happen long before it did, but it was still a great book.)

Source: The author contacted me and asked if I would review this book.

My Rating: 6/10 Stars

Warning: Adult rating for violence and gore.

I’m glad the author contacted about this book, because I never would’ve chosen it for myself. I know I’m terrible, but I judge a book by it’s cover and I don’t like this cover. It also doesn’t depict the book very well, because that really doesn’t look like a man riding a pteradon (pterodactyl). (And now everyone is squinting at it, because I made it so small. I just didn’t want to keep looking at it. Sorry!)

My Summary: 

In a world where the elements have a consciousness, the mighty Empire has learned to communicate with them. These people are called Tutors, but the Tutors have a problem. After a star disappears from the sky the elements start acting strangely. Air is more demanding, and fire has disappeared. What does it all mean?

Two children find out when they develop strange new abilities, abilities that no one has had before.

Lanon, a pteradon squad leader, winds up being forced into helping a disgraced Tutor discover what’s wrong with the element Earth.

The Empire has declared war on Marapor, but Grenot knows if the Empire goes to war they will lose, so he decides to take matters into his own hands.

My Review:

These are only the main three story lines, but there are quite a few more. The author certainly has a vivid imagination, but I think he tried to put too many ideas into one book. (At least too many characters. Molly was confused. Though it probably didn’t help that I kept referring to them as S person and L person. And then there were two L persons!)

The Good:

Elemental Rancor has a very interesting world with all kinds of cool creatures; bird people, fish people, dinosaurs, not to mention monkey vultures. (The monkey vultures aren’t important, they just creeped me out!)

I liked that the elements had a consciousness and the magic is really just people communicating with them. (I wish we’d gotten to see someone arguing with their magic, that would’ve been funny.) The ways magic was changing was well done too and it made sense. I liked the kids’ abilities the most! (That was the story line I kept reading for.)

Except for the beginning it was all fast paced. It was a good thing the chapters changed points of view or I never could’ve put it down. (Even though they all ended to be continued, not knowing when that character would come back helped me to stop.)

It took me a while to figure out who was who, but I liked most of the characters, and even the ones I didn’t care for were well developed. (A bit too much development if you as me. I didn’t really need flashbacks about a character’s mom who was barely in the book.)

The Bad:

I’ve read plenty of books with multiple points of view. Usually the books where people are complaining about too many characters, I’m fine with, but this one had too many in the beginning even for me. (It didn’t help that all of the grunts had names too, so I didn’t know who was important.)

A couple of things that happened I thought were a bit silly. There were also some very violent and gross parts. (Only one gross thing actually bothered me. I also considered this one of the silly things. I was tempted to google if it was actually possible, but I decided I didn’t want to know.)

The story was well told, but there were some tell tale signs that this was the author’s first book; unnecessary words, things repeated when they didn’t need to be, everyday conversations that could’ve been cut, that sort of thing. It was a bit distracting but the story was good enough that I kept reading. (I told myself going in that I’d give up if it wasn’t for me, but I couldn’t, he had me hooked.)

Verdict: 

It’s not a perfect story, but I was entertained, which in the end is all that matters to me. Even when I was confused I couldn’t put it down. I found myself staying up too late, because I was just going to read one more chapter.

Will I read the next one? Yes.

How many points of view do you like? I like multiple points of view, but I tend to prefer 5-7 at the most. (For the first book at least)

