Tags

, , , ,

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. They come up with top ten lists that people can blog about every week.

Sorry for the late post. I was distracted by this little bugger puppyface and I was jet lagged. (You can so be jet lagged without changing times zones. Only explanation for the zombie that was me this morning.)

inthenameofthewind1. The Name of the Wind(The Kingkiller Chronicle, #1)

Kvothe is the most notorious wizard the world has ever seen, but he’s now in hiding. It takes him three days to tell the story of his life.

This book is doomed for me! Three times I’ve borrowed it from the library, but something always happens before I can start it. (It must be telling me to buy it.)

Recommended By: Yvo

princeofthorns2. Prince of Thorns (The Broken Empire, #1)

Jorg was nine when his brother and mother were killed. His father, the king, didn’t even punish the count who did it. Jorg plots revenge and intends to be king no matter the cost.

I love a good antihero and this is like THE antihero book. It might be a bit dark for me, but I think it will be interesting to see through the eyes of such a character.

Recommended By: Nathan

liesoflockelamora

3. The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard, #1)

Orphan becomes con man, starts band of expert thieves.

I was clearly in an antihero mood when I made this list. (I didn’t even realize it at first.) Locke Lamora is said to be witty and funny too!

Recommended By: Mogsy

4. Unwind (Ununwindwind, #1)

Until their children turn eighteen parents can decide to unwind them, where all of their parts are used to save lives. Three teens at risk of being unwound try to escape and survive.

This book just sounds creepy, but reviewers I trust loved it and I’m just too curious.

Recommended By: Shannon

summoning5. The Summoning(Darkest Powers, #1)

Chloe discovers she can see ghosts. She gets herself locked up in Lyle house for troubled teens, but turns out they’re all special too.

I’m hoping this is a lighter book. It looks like fun with lots of different kinds of paranormal creatures. I’m a little worried that there’s a mental institution thing, which is why I haven’t read it already.

Recommended By: Carmel

6. The Iron King (The Iron Fey, #1)ironking

Megan knows something’s about to change. Someone is stalking her and her best friend is acting over protective. She discovers she’s the daughter of a fairy king and a pawn in a war. To save someone she cares about she’ll have to face a mysterious evil and she might be developing feelings for a prince who would rather see her dead.

Mostly I’ve read that Puck is in the book and I always loved that trickster character. Plus war and a forbidden romance.

Recommended By: Sydney

hexhall7. Hex Hall (Hex Hall, #1)

Sophie is a witch, but after a spell goes wrong on prom night her father sends her to Hex Hall as punishment, a reform school for witches, faeries and shapeshifters.

I love magical boarding schools and the different magical species thing sounds like fun. I think there’s also some mystery.

Recommended By: Melanie

amongthieves8. Among Thieves(Tales of the Kin, #1)

Drothe is a member of the Kin, thieves and murderers who work for a crime lord. When an ancient book that everyone wants falls into his hands it causes all sorts of trouble.

I actually own book two already and I’ve heard good things. It’s also another antihero book, which I obviously like.

Recommended By: Anya

hounded9. Hounded (The Iron Druid Chronicles, #1)

Atticus is the last of the druids and twenty one centuries old. He draws his magic from the earth, can shapeshift into a wolf, and wields a magical sword. It’s this last part that gets him into trouble when a Celtic god wants said sword.

I like funny urban fantasys and it’s a rather long series, which means it should last me a while. (I hope)

Recommended By: Pabkins

1pawn0. Pawn (The Blackcoat Rebellion, #1)

A test determines your place in society. Kitty is a lousy III, but she can become a IV if she agrees to be surgically altered into the Prime Minister’s niece who died mysteriously. The catch? She has to stop the rebellion the niece secretly started.

I’ve read so many good reviews of the sequel Captive, which was released this year. (Always good to know the series holds up)

Recommended By: Natalie

Do you feel the need to own good books? If I read a good library or Kindle book, I HAVE to own it for real! I am a big rereader though, so it’s not like I ONLY like staring at all the pretty books.